h1

Grandma Leta’s Quilt

January 12, 2006


My husband’s grandmother made this quilt in the early 1930’s. She apparently won first place at the Indianapolis State Fair with it. I have not been able to find out the year though because the State Fair archives did not keep records on the quilt contests that far back. I can find out whose pig won first place, but not whose quilt.

There are 48 blocks set in sashing. Each block has an image of one state’s official state flower. The flowers are embroidered in French
Knots with the leaves and grasses done in the outline stitch. The state’s abbreviation is in the lower left hand corner.

All of the embroidery, piecing and quilting were done by hand. I cannot imagine how long it must have taken her to finish it. Talk about a labor of love!

6 comments

  1. What a beautiful quilt. Did she handquilt it?


  2. How cool that you have that quilt! It’s really beautiful!


  3. What a treasure! I love those poppies painted with french knots. Can’t imagine doing that. Our mothers and grandmothers gave us a great heritage.


  4. Awesomely beautiful!


  5. Deb: That is a great quilt. I can’t imagine how long it took her but I’m betting she was so proud of it.

    Judy L.


  6. Yes, it was all hand stitched and hand quilted. And her hand work is exquisite. I feel honored that my MIL gave it to me even though I am not a direct decendent.



Leave a Reply

