h1

JQC 2006 Intro

January 2, 2006

I am looking forward to seeing everyone’s work for the Journal Quilt Challenge 2006. I am sure it will be fun, beautiful, and inspiring!

I have decided to explore the elements and principles of design for my quilt pages. The elements include line, shape, form, space, color, value and texture. The priciples include balance, emphasis, movement, variety, proportion and unity. There are more than 12 areas I want to explore so I am not sure how I will divide them up over the year. I am thinking I will start with 1 per month and see how it goes…

I have also decided to give my pages a common theme: Victorian homes. In my home town in Indiana there were many gorgeous homes built during the late 1800s and early 1900s using the Italiante, Queen Anne and Stick architectural styles. I am going to use these homes as inspiration for my journal studies. These two homes are examples of the homes in the historic district in Anderson. The Anderson Downtown Neighbors Association has generously given me permission to use the photos.

6 comments

  1. Deb, I like your ideas for the Journal Quilts. I cannot wait to see what you come up with.


  2. Is this cool or what?


  3. I love old houses and am excited about your plans; and in how you will use your monthly goals to bring the houses into existence.


  4. Deb,
    Wonderful link! Thank you. I am a Victorian lady in disguise…hahaha! I can’t wait to see your ideas in fabric. Debby


  5. Deb – Your idea of Victorian Houses as a theme is bound to be an interesting journey – with all of the interesting angles and gingerbread trim there is no lack of inspiration!


  6. This post has been removed by the author.–>



Leave a Reply

