h1

The Artist’s Way

December 11, 2005


I saw some of the chatter about The Artist’s Way and curiosity got the best of me. I had to check the book out of the library and see what it said. I’m going to include some comments here, even though I’m not a part of the group and I’m some 5 weeks behind everyone else. Hey, it’s my blog so I can do what I want, right? 🙂

I got through the first chapter this week. The exercises were interesting and revealing for me. The time travel exercises said to list three enemies and champions of my creative self-worth. This brought up old memories of a wonderful high school art teacher who was very encouraging and thought I could do no wrong. I tried to find her online but had no success. It also brought up old memories of a college drawing professor who said that technically my drawing were good, but they didn’t “speak” to him. I had no idea what that meant at the time and I still struggle with his one comment. But I am making it a major goal in my art to decide what I want it to say and how it is going to say it. It still seems a little intangible to me, but I’m going to pursue it since his comments still bugg me.

Imaginary lives was another of the interesting exercises. If you had 5 other lives to lead, what would you do in each of them? I don’t know if I did this one right, because all of my imaginary lives relate back to quilting. I guess I just cannot see myself doing anything else. My imaginary lives are: 1. a longarm quilter working to help others finish their quilts. 2. earning a master’s degree and teaching textile arts at the college level. 3 teaching quilting to children. 4. writer/illustrator of children’s books (using fabrics, of course!) and 5. fashion designer. Then the exercise says to select one of those and do it this week. So I decided to choose teaching quilting to children and I’m going to write some lesson plans for a machine quilting class. Last summer I coordinated a group of kids to make a group quilt and it was so much fun and rewarding for me. That is the Pooh quilt shown above.

One comment

  1. Dear Debbie,

    I am interested in teaching children to quilt, too. However, I am a novice myself and do not know where to begin.

    Did you complete the lesson plans you mentioned? If so, are you willing to share them.

    Thanking you in advance.

    my e-mail address is dulcetnsensible@yahoo.com

    Jane H.
    Statesboro, GA



Leave a Reply

