h1

Goals 2006

December 6, 2005


Wow! It is December. Time to review the year and look forward to next year.

This is of one of my favorite wallhangings that I made this year; titled Yankee Puzzle in Green.

I’m not sure what my goals were last year at this time, so I’m not really sure if I achieved them. But I do know I made a lot of progress in my quilting over the last year. I was able to carve out a little studio area in the corner of our game room to work in where I can have most of my tools and materials handy. And I took some classes in fabric dying so now I am able to dye fabrics for my work, although I still have a lot to learn there. I am happy about the progress I have made over the last year.

As far as goals for next year goes, one of the things I have been working toward is to develop a “style”. I’m not sure at this point what that style might be… or what it might involve. So over the next year I would like to explore some new areas of the quilt art world and see what might be a good fit for me. One of my goals will be to try a new media, material or process and finish a 12″ x 12″ piece in that form every month. Some of the areas that I would like to explore further are photo transfer, relief work and application of texture to surfaces. As soon as I figure out how to, I will add a list of the processes I would like to try to my sidebar.

Secondly, I would like to finish one major piece every 2 months. These are pieces that are probably already in my sketch book, perhaps only in my mind at this point. But these will be large- around 40″ x 40″- and will be original designs by myself, probably mostly pieced. Again, I will add these to the sidebar, but some of the studio names I have given them are African Violet, Sunflower, Red Brick Schoolhouse and Fish. OK, so they are not terribly creative names, I’ll work on that. One of my main goals with these pieces is to create them so that they “say something” to the viewer. I remember from one of my drawing classes in college the professor told me that my drawings were technically perfect but they didn’t speak to the viewer. I’m still trying to figure out what that means and how to apply it to my work.

Thirdly, I’ll be getting a new longarm in January or February so obviously one of my goals will be to bond with my new machine and PPP; practice, practice practice!! I am looking forward to being able to work on large pieces!

I think that is it for my goals for 2006. Looks like it will be a busy year!

One comment

  1. Deb: What kind of longarm are you getting? Sounds like you have a whole lot going on.

    Judy L.



Leave a Reply

